Four faculty awarded tenure

The University of Colorado Board of Regents approved tenure for four College of Engineering and Applied Science faculty:

  • Caroline Clevenger, civil engineering
  • Dan Connors, electrical engineering
  • Yiming Deng, electrical engineering
  • Jaedo Park, electrical engineering

The also announced the appointment of Jeffrey Jacot, who will join the Department of Bioengineering on July 1 as an associate professor.

Congratulations and kudos for your hard work.

 left to right: Clevenger, Connors, Deng and Park

For a complete list of June 2016 tenure awards across the CU system, read the June 30 issue of CU Connections.


Yakacki named campus Faculty Excellence Award winner

Yakacki (9-12)-WEBChristopher Yakacki, assistant professor, has been named the 2015 campus winner for the Faculty Excellence in Research and Creative Activities award. He will be honored at a ceremony on September 18. The awards are special not just because they recognize outstanding performance in our core areas as a university, but also because they are ultimately recognition of this exemplary work by faculty peers. Recipients are chosen by selection committees comprising previous award winners. Congratulations, Chris! Read the entire announcement from Provost Nairn.

Mandos named 2015 CEAS Outstanding Staff

Sarah Mandos, program assistant for the Department of Computer Science and Engineering has been named the 2015 College of Engineering and Applied Science Outstanding Staff. The award, which includes a cash prize as well as a commemorative plaque, will be presented at the college Year-End Celebration on May 15.

As the winner of this year’s award, Sarah will be appointed to serve on the selection committee for next year’s Outstanding Staff award.


Yakacki named college Outstanding Faculty in Research

Yakacki (9-12)-WEBChristopher Yakacki, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the College of Engineering and Applied Science Outstanding Faculty in Research Award. The award, which includes a cash prize and a commemorative plaque, will be presented to Chris at the 2015 Year End Celebration on May 15.

He is also in the running for the campuswide Annual Award for Excellence in Research/Creative Activities.

Congratulations again, and best of luck with the campus-level award.

Hayes selected as the 2015 college Outstanding Faculty in Teaching

KM0_1174Roxann Hayes, instructor of civil engineering and advisor in the Engineering Student Services Center, has been named the 2015 College of Engineering and Applied Science Outstanding Faculty in Teaching. The award–a cash prize and commemorative plaque–will be presented to Roxann at the 2015 Year-End Celebration on May 15.

She is also under consideration for the campuswide Annual Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Congratulations, Roxann, and best of luck with the campus-level award.

Emily Gibson receives Butcher Seed Grant Award

Emily Gibson, PhDEmily Gibson, assistant professor in bioengineering, is one of seven recipients of the 2014 Butcher Seed Grant Awards for her proposal, “Optimized deep-brain imaging of activity in over a hundred neurons for imaging seizures.”

The Butcher Symposium began in 2002 as a grassroots effort to bring together scientists from across the CU system to create collaborations and share data. Butcher Seed Grants were awarded in 2002, 2005, 2007, 2009 and 2012 to fund potentially transformative new scientific pilot projects that required researchers with different expertise to work together to address critical challenges in the biosciences.

Vu receives Google Research Award

TamVuTam Vu, assistant professor in computer science and engineering, is the recipient of a Google Research Award, a one-year award to support the work of faculty at top universities around the world. According to the Google award website, “The intent of the Google Research Awards is to support cutting-edge research in computer science, engineering and related fields, including public policies, geographical maps, economics and market algorithms.”

This award fosters the collaboration between Google and the Mobile and Networked System Lab in Department of Computer Science, and it will support an ongoing project called “One Ring To Rule Them All,” which aims at providing a ubiquitous solution for user identification and authentication through a novel communication technique called Capacitive Touchscreen Communication. This method exploits the pervasive capacitive touchscreens found in today’s electronic devices such as laptops, phones, etc., as a receiver for decoding identification and authentication information transmitted from custom-designed human wearable hardware tokens, such as a ring or a watch. The end goal is to unify all forms of authentication tokens, including credit cards, phone SIM cards, car keys, etc, into a single ring.

Congratulations, Tam!

The list of previously awarded faculties can be found here.

Xiaoye Chen receives 2014 ASNT Student Travel Reimbursement Grant

Xiaoye Chen, a PhD student in electrical engineering, has been awarded a 2014 ASNT Student Travel Reimbursement Grant. As a recipient of this grant, she receives free registration to this year’s American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT) Research Symposium in Minneapolis, MN and up to $1,000 in reimbursable expenses. She is one of fifteen students nationwide to receive this award, and will be recognized during the Symposium at the Annual Research Council Dinner on Tuesday, March 25, 2014. With the support of this grant, students will:

  • Network with nondestructive evaluation (NDE) researchers from around the globe
  • Make career connections with researchers, engineers, inspectors and equipment makers
  • Attend sessions on emerging NDE technologies and trends to increase their knowledge base
  • Develop professional skills
  • Learn how the academic and research communities come together with industry

Xiaoye is a member of the Laboratory of Electromagnetic and Acoustic Imaging and Prognostics (LEAP) and is working with Yiming Deng, assistant professor of electrical engineering, on innovative electromagnetic imaging sensors for materials characterization and nondestructive evaluation. Her current research interests span from sensor development and prototyping, computational electromagnetics and image processing.

Congratulations Xiaoye!

Kiran Dyamenahalli, BIOE, receives travel award from Graduate School

Kiran Dyamenahalli, an MSTP-PhD candidate in BIOE, received a $500 travel award from the Graduate School to support his travel to the BioInterface 2013 conference in Bloomington, MN on Oct. 7-9, 2013. The conference is sponsored by the Surfaces in Biomaterials Foundation. Kiran will give a talk entitled “Shape Memory Polymer Nanocomposite Materials for Transcatheter Cardiovascular Devices.”


Amin Famili, PhD Candidate in BIOE, receives 2nd place honor from American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists


Amin Famili, a PhD candidate in Bioengineering, will be honored at the upcoming Ocular Drug Delivery and Disposition Focus Group (ODDDFG) Meeting on November 11, 2013 for his poster “A combined reverse thermal gel/polymeric mycelle system for sustained ocular delivery of triamcinolone acetonide.” Amin was selected as the 2nd place recipient of the 2013 AAPS ODDDFG Graduate Student Poster Award sponsored by Bausch & Lomb. Amin also received a $500 travel award from the CU Denver Graduate School to support his travel. Congratulations, Amin!